public forum
home forum magazine gallery links about faq courtesy
It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 6:00 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Help needed with music for a new dance work
PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2001 3:04 am 

Dear all,<P>This is my first time here - so HI!!<P>I would love to grab so help from you as im choreographing a new dance piece but cannot find any instrumental music.<P>My piece is just pure movement and about 8-9 mins long. Ive been listening to composers such as steve reich and john cage but have not been sucessful in my search!<P>I was wondering whether anybody could suggest any composer and cd titles to help me out.<P>I would like a piece of music that has different qualities in it such as fast and lyrical but also something that sounds a wee bit different.<P>PLease please help and my movement is very versitile and will go to anything.<P>Many thanks!<P>Love betty xxx

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Help needed with music for a new dance work
PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2001 3:27 am 

Hi Betty and welcome to criticaldance. I think your request is more likely to receive an answer from our Backstage forum where we discuss music for dance. So I am moving it there and locking it here.<P>You say your piece features 'pure movement', but some further description of the style that you favour would be helpful to respondents.<P>I've also changed the title of the topic so that people know the theme.<P>Good luck with your search! <P><p>[This message has been edited by Stuart Sweeney (edited May 06, 2001).]

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2001 4:04 am