public forum
home forum magazine gallery links about faq courtesy
It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 4:41 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: connection between yoga and ballet
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2000 12:12 am 

Hello!<BR>My name is Dee, and this is my first time visiting this fantastic site. Image Here's my question: I'm an adult ballet student who deperately needs to improve her flexibility. To help this I've enrolled in a yoga class(specifically astanga). I've been going to at least three classes per week. I was just wondering, will practising yoga develop muscles that are contrary to what a ballet dancer needs? Any info would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks in advance.<BR>~Dee<BR>p.s. Thank you! Basheva for responding to my email, and telling me about this very informative site. It's definately a "Favourites".

Post subject: Re: connection between yoga and ballet
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2000 5:15 am 

hi dee! Image yoga is great, and can only help you. we have a good thread about it somewhere, which i will find and link into this thread for you (if someone else doesn't beat me to it).<P>i envy you managing to get to three classes a week - as well as ballet - good combination. enjoy! Image

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2000 10:27 am 

Hello Dee - welcome to the board!! I, myself, have never taken yoga but I do know of another dancer/teacher who does and she feels it has been very beneficial. I have never heard of any contrary opinions concerning ballet and yoga. <P>However,you are very wise to ask this question, because there are many types of exercises that do not go together well with the ballet. The Russians for many years would only allow their dance students to take swimming. Many dancers have used swimming to help them through times when they are injured.<P>It would be intersting for you to keep us informed what your experieces are.

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2000 11:27 am