public forum
home forum magazine gallery links about faq courtesy
It is currently Thu Aug 28, 2014 5:15 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Modern Book
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2001 7:27 pm 

Can anyone recommend a Modern Dance technique book which includes Graham? My ideal would be a book like Gretchen Ward Warren's Classical Ballet Technique, covering several styles of Modern.<P>I'm in my second semester of Ballet and Jazz, and my first semester of Modern and Tap. The Modern is mostly Graham, but I'll have other teachers in the future.<P>Thanks.

Post subject: Re: Modern Book
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2001 7:30 pm 

MichaelB - a warm welcome to our board!!<P>I am a ballet teacher so I cannot answer your question about books for modern dance. However, we have several very experienced and knowledgeable modern dancers and teachers here who I am sure will be able to help. So, please keep checking back.

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2001 8:09 pm 

Basheva, Thanks for your welcome and your quick response. <BR>I've enjoyed many, many posts of yours while reading through the archives.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2001 8:41 am 

Michael ---welcome!! Glad you found us!!!--are you attending a university dance program?<BR>As far as a modern technique book: the Graham technque is copyrighted. That means that the technique is protected, and can only be taught by a teacher certified/qualified to teach that technqie specifically. One book I can recommed for Jose Limon techniqe: It is called the "The Illustrated Dance technique of Jose Limon" by Daniel Lewis, published by Harper and Row, l984. It has some exellent historical pictures, and illutrations of "how to". I recommend it!

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2001 9:56 am