public forum
home forum magazine gallery links about faq courtesy
It is currently Sat Nov 29, 2014 12:30 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Dancing In a Big Way
PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2001 3:16 pm 

As a teacher I know you are all interested in teaching correctly, teaching with care both for the dance and the dancer, but here is another issue:<P>How do you get your students to dance large?<P>To cover space?<P>To "give the dance away" to the very last seat in the upper balcony? <P>To convey the love - and passion - that they feel inwardly - how do you teach them to portray it outwardly?

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Dancing In a Big Way
PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2001 1:08 pm 

This is an interesting post, Basheva. I don't think I can answer your question, but I will be back to comment. Image

PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2001 3:36 pm 

I can't answer this properly but my teacher often tells us to use up as much space as possible - to make every movement as big as possible to fill the room and move with the music. She also says that an ugly person (ugly on the inside of course!) can never be a great dancer no matter how well they master technique, because every movement is an expression of YOU and you need to express that to the maximum in your movement. Hmmm. Having read over that it doesn't sound too sensible, but it certainly helps in practice.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2001 3:39 pm