public forum
home forum magazine gallery links about faq courtesy
It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 12:43 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: tendu
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2001 6:55 pm 

Hi everyone-- I've been lurking for a while and enjoying all the discussions on this site and finally decided to ask a question (the first of many I expect!) Basheva, you said in an earlier posting that no one would want to listen to you expound on tendus all day. Well I would! I am a novice and I sometimes feel I am missing the point of this movement. I try to pull up out of my hips to get a better turnout, keep the turnout the same degree throughout the movement, and I try to stay conscious of extending my leg down to the toes, stretching the calf, ankle, and foot. I still feel as though I'm missing the deeper meaning of the movement if that makes sense. Do you have any pearls of wisdom for me? Thanks.

Post subject: Re: tendu
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2001 7:07 pm 

Hi Elise - nice to see you. Basheva and others will undoubtably have lots of good advice which I too will be very interested to hear. Since I got here first I just wanted to say hello and tell you that I'm a novice too and that I'm sure tendu has many mysteries yet to yield. <P>Like you I try to focus on my turnout and placement and lengthening through the leg - particularly the thigh (I have a nasty tendency to want to bunch my quads and pull them in towrads my torso). I also try to work really hard on articulating through the whole foot with no toe scrunching (my teacher calls them 'crunchy toes'!). This used to elude me completely but it's getting better. I wish it would get MUCH better though.<P>Looking forward to hearing what our experts have to say on this one.<P>Danni Image

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2001 7:21 pm