CriticalDance Forum

It is currently Sat Jun 15, 2019 10:01 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Financial help for young dancer
PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 6:48 am 

My daughter is 12 and dances at a new school associated with Dance Theater Suitcase which is a new and the only professional dance company in upper east Tennessee. Becasue the company is new and it is strapped for funding, scholarships for dancers are out of the question.

My question is how can I find financial support for my daughter to attend summer workshops?

I am a teacher and my husband is a maintenance worker. We have no problem paying for her lessons. She takes 4 days a week. But to go away to a 2 week summer workshop is not possible for us financially. This summer she was able to attend a two week workshop sponsored by Dance Theater Suitcase because I volunteered and my husband made a transportable barre for the company. She is the best dancer in her class but how can she challenge herself if she can not dance with other skilled children her own age.

How can we start a fund to raise the $2000.00 for her each year?

Post subject: Re: Financial help for young dancer
PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 9:23 am 

Good question and welcome to CD.com! I used to live and work in TN, so I thought I might provide some suggested material for your consideration.