public forum
home forum magazine gallery links about faq courtesy
It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 8:46 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Assuming First Position.............
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2001 5:32 pm 

<BR>I think that most of us would agree that first position of the feet can be a very individual thing. It depends on the hyperextension or conversely, the bow of the knee. It also depends on the degree of true turnout from the hip. It is getting into first position that concerns me.<P>I had the occasion the other day of observing a very fine teacher demonstrate this to an adult class of absolute beginners – literally their first class. She did what I have seen one other teacher do who was also very knowledgeable. In all else, I agree with their methods of teaching ballet technique – except in this one instance. What she did was to demonstrate and tell the class that to get into first position they should stand first with their feet facing forward, side by side, almost touching – some call it sixth position. And, then with weight back on their heels, bring the ball and toes of the foot back into first.<P>This is directly contrary to how I was taught it and how I always taught it to my students. I always told them to stand with both feet facing forward but with space between the feet to then bring the weight forward and bring the heels forward into first. When I do this I can feel my hips open and my weight is on the forward portions of my feet – where the ballet alignment should be, even though the heels are in contact with the floor.<P>In the first method – bringing the toes back – I can’t feel a corresponding opening of the hips and it leaves my weight back on my heels. An experienced dancer would automatically bring the weight forward, but for beginners this seems to be a very contrarian thing to do. It places the beginner exactly where they shouldn’t be – back on their heels.<P>I realize that most of us with ample experience probab