public forum
home forum magazine gallery links about faq courtesy
It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 1:22 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Social Dance Injuries
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2000 11:23 am 

I had an interesting conversation the other day with a shop assistant who when she found out I was a dance teacher proceeded to tell me how she used to enjoy line dancing but had to stop due to a back injury she sustained while dancing.<P>As the conversation progressed it became apparent to me that the injury was probably sustained due to the fact that with a lot of "social" dance forms participants leap straight in without the usual warm-up that theatre and ballet dance students are introduced to from day one.<P>What are all your views on this. Are their any teachers or participants of Social dance on these boards that can give a more informed comment on structures of social dance classes. My point is really that often social dance forms like, line dancing, jive, salsa, ceroc etc are sometimes an Adult's first introduction to dance and maybe a stimulus for them to try other forms as well and therefore an unfortunate injury could be off putting. Is this woman's experience rare or are a lot of injuries sustained in social dance because it is social and therefore has a fairly loose structure - I would appreciate any more well informed comments on this subject than my own ramblings above.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Social Dance Injuries
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2000 11:33 am