CriticalDance Forum

It is currently Mon Jun 24, 2019 3:47 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Difficult teachers ... errr ... students
PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 8:41 pm 

Sorry. I haven't had much time to visit over the last year or so. I've been lucky just to be able to take time to read the wonderful newsletter you send.

Well, you know how it is. Old friends only come knocking when they want something. So, on with the show.

OK. I took adult classes for about a year. I was advancing, but I didn't feel like I was getting anywhere. In fact, by the time I quit I was lost.

I'm an analyst by nature. I have to have a clear idea of what it is I am doing before I can act. I need to think before I act and my teachers apparently needed me to act before thinking. We were all pretty much clueless. "Overanalyzing" pretty much became their mantra towards the end.

Anyhow, I was not satisfied with my progress. I decided I'd be better off taking private lessons. I found a wonderful coach. She has style. She has charm. And best of all she is capable of answering my questions without me having to offer explanations.

Our first lesson was wonderful. At least I thought so. We focused on the problem I was having. I was full of questions and she was full of answers. Of course, we didn't get any work done, but I walked away with a brain saturated with information.

Two practices went by. I took what I learned and applied it. Things fell into place almost immediately. The rest of my practice time was spent exploring around that. It was so satisfying.

Second lesson came and she was impressed with my performance and asked me what else I would like to work on. I told her and we went to work. That didn't last long. I was full of questions and she was full of answers ... practice ... integration ... exploration ... satisfaction.