public forum
home forum magazine gallery links about faq courtesy
It is currently Mon Oct 20, 2014 3:21 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Professional programs
PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 12:21 pm 

Hello,

I am 26 years old, and I want to study ballet in a professional program... I am not sure if there are any professional schools accessible to me at my age. ;) If you can advise me, I would be so grateful!

I studied ballet when I was young, but only in open classes, and I did not take exams! I also studied some modern dance and jazz.

Now, I am going to open adult classes in the town where I live, but after a few months of classes, the classes have become less challenging, and I would love to be able to enter a professional program, and take exams, to challenge myself and improve. Maybe I could later try auditions for contemporary performances...

I know that in France, where I was working before, I was going to the "professional" classes in a private dance school, as drop-in open classes on the days I was not working. The level was appropriate for me, and it seems to me that, in France, private dance schools (as opposed to public schools such as the Conservatory which require a certain level) are very accessible to different levels, and my dance level was at least equal to the other students. I did not enquire about joining the full program and taking exams, because i did not have many weekdays without work.