public forum
home forum magazine gallery links about faq courtesy
It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 11:57 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: dance school in Burlington, NC?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 4:30 pm 

Hi out there!
I am trying to find a school to recommend for a friend with a 5 year old. I have been a teacher for a while but am new to the state of NC. Can anyone recommend a school near/in Burlington that has good technique and training and isn't all about the end of the year performance? I would love to find a place like the one I trained in, it was a non-profit with solid training; and the school owned their own costumes and had regular performance opportunities for the older students. Parents these days feel unfairly bombarded with extra fees: costumes, tickets, registration fees, recital fees etc... shouldn’t the tuition cover all that?
Thanks in advance!
-Chris

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 1:31 am 

Hi Chrismohn,

I cannot help with a recommendation for a school as I am based in the UK.

However just wanted to reply about your comments about tuition fees covering everything. In an ideal world yes I am sure most dance teachers would love this to be the case but unfortunately recitals/shows cost a lot of money. It would certainly be a lot easier than chasing some people up for money they haven't paid for a costume that their child now has etc. My last show cost in excess of £5000 and probably nearer £8000, to put on by the time you have hired a theatre, hired/bought costumes, employed relevant theatre personnel and effects and produced scenery and props.

I myself made very little from an endeavour like this if you sit down and work out hour for hour the amount of time a teacher puts into a project like this.