CriticalDance Forum

It is currently Mon Apr 22, 2019 4:44 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: The Place Prize 2013
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 8:28 am 

Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2001 11:01 pm
Posts: 712
Location: Rugby, UK / Taipei
Commissioned artists to compete for The Place Prize for dance announced

The commissioned artists for the 2013 Place Prize choreography comnetition have been announced.

The competition (sponsored by Bloomberg) is open to all UK-based choreographers working in contemporary dance but is unusual in that it is for commissioned works, and participating choreographers are given funds, free studio time and technical support to create their work. The competition was launched in 2004 and runs biennially. It is the biggest single source of commissions for new short works in British dance. By the end of this 5th edition, it will have enabled the creation of 92 original pieces of choreography, most of which have remained in the artists’ repertoire, and have been toured in theatres and festivals nationally and internationally. The Place Prize has already invested over £1m in new British dance, and has brought leading artists, including Rafael Bonachela, Hofesh Shechter, Adam Linder and Ben Duke & Raquel Mesenguer (Lost Dog), among others, to international attention.

The shortlisted artists were selected by a panel chaired by Eddie Nixon, Director of Theatre and Artist Development at The Place, and are:
    Tony Adigun
    Ben Ash (former Place Prize Semi-finalist, 2006)
    Riccardo Buscarini (former Place Prize Finalist, 2011)
    Seke Chimutengwende
    Darren Ellis (former Place Prize Semi-finalist, 2010)
    Hanna Gillgren and Heidi Rustgaard (h2dance)
    Jonathan Goddard and Gemma Nixon (Goddard Nixon) (In 2008 Goddard was the first contemporary dancer to win the Critics’ Circle National Dance Award for Best Male Dancer)
    Mamoru Iriguchi (a self-taught performance maker who originally trained as a zoologist, and then as a theatre designer. Iriguchi’s work was first seen on The Place’s stage during Resolution! 2011)
    Nina Kov
    Joe Moran
    Rick Nodine
    Neil Paris
    Eva Recacha (former Place Prize Finalist, 2011)
    Moreno Solinas
    Robbie Synge
    Ben Wright (former Place Prize Semi-finalist, 2006, 2008)

The 16 works, chosen from over 200 entrants, are said to encompass a wide range of contemporary styles, mixing group pieces with solos, duos and trios, and reflect the diversity of today’s British contemporary dance scene. They will be premiered in a series of public performances in London at The Place during the Semi-finals, in September 2012. Three competitors will then be selected by a panel of dance experts, and one by audience vote, to compete in the Finals, in April 2013, for £35,000 in prize money.
The Place Prize, sponsored by Bloomberg, is the

Performance schedule:

Preview performances: Thu 6 to Thu 13 September 2012
Semi-final performances: Sat 15 to Sat 22 September 2012
Finals: Spring 2013

Tickets will be available from The Place’s Box Office in June; Call 020 7121 1100 or visit

Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group