public forum
home forum magazine gallery links about faq courtesy
It is currently Sat Aug 23, 2014 1:19 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Can dancing cure depression?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2004 5:47 am 

A little while ago I read a post in this forum about how dancing makes you feel, and a couple of people said that to them taking dance classes was like therapy.

I'm quite interested in the idea that dancing could be good for your mental health as well as as your physical well-being.

Anyone got any thoughts/experience/opinions on the matter? I'm a journalist, and thinking about following this up for an article.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Can dancing cure depression?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2004 10:13 am 

This is an interesting topic. I wonder, though, if dancing itself is therapeutic or a sign that someone is coming out of a depressive episode. One of the criteria for true depression is a loss of interest - most depressed patients just sit at home and never get out to do their regular activities. So, it would seem that in most cases depressed people wouldn't get out to even try dancing.

On the other hand, maybe if they force themselves to get out and dance, they recover from their depression with greater ease. It's an interesting idea - I'd be interested in reading your article. And dance certainly beats the antidepressant medications and all of their unpleasant side effects.

One more note - there is a difference between having clinical major depression and simply being in a depressed mood. People can feel down like we all do at times, and still not be truly ill. Major depression is a severe psychiatric illness, and if dancers can overcome it by doing what they love - what a tremendous breakthrough that would be for many, many people...

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2004 3:06 pm