public forum
home forum magazine gallery links about faq courtesy
It is currently Tue Sep 16, 2014 11:43 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Bournonville
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:45 am 

I hope a Eurocentric place like this board will yield me some good answers. :) My daughter has begun some work in the Bournonville style, and I'm curious to know more about it. I hear terms like "delicacy" and "fluidity" bandied about, but what does it actually mean, and what distinguishes this style from the others? And how would you characterize or describe dancers who have been best at this style (describing both physically and emotionally, I mean)? thanks for any and all input!

Post subject: Re: Bournonville
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 10:58 am 

Greetings!
I'm by no means a Bournonville expert, but I'll try my best to give you an idea of the style and point you towards some good resources.

The best place by far is the Bournonville Website, http://www.bournonville.com/, which has wonderful articles about Bournonville, the style, the dancers (and dance types). Click on the link on the left for "The Style" and you will find a series of article on the style, including a great article, 'Positions and Stylistic Characteristics" on the positions with links to pictures of each position. There are also articles on the typical male and female dancers.