public forum
home forum magazine gallery links about faq courtesy
It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 12:59 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 8 posts ] 
 Post subject: Sorry double-jointed question!
PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2001 8:58 am 

HI there,<BR>I am a beginner at ballet at age 19, but i was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on the possibility of getting really good at it.<P>At the moment I do not have great strength and am very double-jointed. I dont know if this is a good thing (because I have a lot of flexibility and if I hold onto a barre I can copy pictures i have seen on here and in books such as the backward splits etc). Will this stand me in good stead for when I develop strength or make it harder for balance?<P>Also could anyone help me with possible strength exercises that would allow me to stabilise my body and help form? As it is I tend to wobble a little because of the looseness of my joints. Any particular knee strengthening exercises would also be a big help - thanks everyone!<BR>

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Sorry double-jointed question!
PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2001 12:18 pm