public forum
home forum magazine gallery links about faq courtesy
It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 12:38 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 6 posts ] 
 Post subject: College student and SI's
PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2004 7:28 am 

I am currently a college dance student on the lookout for a summer program for next year. I'm having the hardest time trying to find a program that fights my needs and desires as a dancer especially because of my age. I will be 22 this Dec. I am looking for an SI that offers ballet technique everyday, modern dance (preferably classically based), and supplemental classes that have to do with injury prevention (pilates, gyrotonics ect.) I would love to be able to begin pointe work just for my own enjoyment but it's not a requirement. So far I have looked at Savage Jazz, Ailey (I have been having problems getting accepted because of my body type), and possibly the Philadanco training program. I'm looking for a program that will at the very least will be 3 weeks longer but I prefer a whole summer gig. I am an intermediate level dancer with the goal of entering a high energy dynamic contemporary ballet/modern dance company.
Thanks a bunch!!

Post subject: Re: College student and SI's
PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 6:49 pm 

Boston Ballet accepts students up to 23 years of age at its Summer Dance Program, though it may be difficult to get in especially at an intermediate level... but you never know what they will be looking for!