public forum
home forum magazine gallery links about faq courtesy
It is currently Mon Nov 24, 2014 9:23 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 
 Post subject: College, a Hopeful Career, and the Mess I'm In...
PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2004 3:41 pm 

I realize that there are tons upon tons of topics with words like "Late Beginner" in the title that I should be referred to upon posting this, but I'm in a bit of a bind that, from what I read, seems a little more complex that just "I'm a late beginner... help." I've always enjoyed dancing, but I didn't actually start taking ballet until this Summer. I took for three months under a pretty renowned man (Neil Hess, if it means anything), and fell in love with ballet. I'm not trying to brag, but I apparently did very well (I had a few girls threaten to kill me over my arch, and I was landing double, sometimes triple pirouettes by the end of the Summer), and have almost decided that I want to pursue this for a living. The problem is that I'm going to a college (Baylor) that has an amazing Acting program (my first love), but almost no dance program whatsoever (aside from the required basic ballet and Dance PE calsses).

Should I being looking for a school to transfer to that has a good dance program and hopefully a good theatre program as well? Or should I remain in the program I am in now, graduate, and then attempt to get into an academy of some sort? Also, if I do consider transferring, is it even going to be possible to find a reasonably good dance school willing to accept a 19 year old with 9 months of ballet training and nothing else? I'm in a very confusing and precarious position right now, and I hope someone can offer some advice. I don't know much about the world of scholarly dance, so any advice is new to me.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: College, a Hopeful Career, and the Mess I'm In...