CriticalDance Forum

It is currently Wed Jun 19, 2019 6:05 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 14 posts ] 
 Post subject: Floor barre?
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2003 2:51 pm 

In a few months time i am going to start some basic ballet classes. I have been told that as an extra class they have floor barre classes. Does anybody know what this is?

Post subject: Re: Floor barre?
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2003 3:07 pm 

The one that I take is similar to a ballet class but all the exercises are done on the floor on your back, stomach, and side. We work on alignment and abdominal strength.

It's more like an exercise class than a dance class, though all the excercises are specifically based on ballet barre, with proper ballet alignment in mind. I find these classes very helpful.

PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2003 3:17 pm 

Thanks! I am a complete beginner at ballet and i wanted to know if you reccommend this type of class?
Is it good is that the floor barre lesson is 12.30-1.20pm and the ballet class in 1.30-3pm.

PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2003 3:51 pm 

darealhoney,
You should ask your teacher for an assessment as well. That sounds like a lot of hours for a beginner but I don't know...

I'm not a ballet teacher and am more familiar with higher-level training but there's a lot of good teachers here who will have advice. I don't consider myself qualified to recommend a particular course of study for a beginner. I will say that in general, I've found my floor barre class to be very beneficial. Mine is very particular to the teacher that I have and was developed by her especially to work on her technique theories..other classes may be different.