public forum
home forum magazine gallery links about faq courtesy
It is currently Wed Apr 16, 2014 3:22 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 12 posts ] 
 Post subject: Grading and exams
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2001 6:48 am 

Hi again,<P><BR>As a beginner I really have no idea how ballet is 'graded'. I have tried looking on the internet (again becuase class has finished). I'm not sure if anyone will be able to answer my question though because I am in the UK not the US. <P>I know I am doing the Cehchetti (I think thats spelled wrongly) style and I have begun at grade one-five with all the young kids. So does anyone know how the grading works or have an internet site with a sort of 'prospectus' on it?

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Grading and exams
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2001 7:02 am 

Although I studied the Cecchetti syllabus for three years, I am by not a Cecchetti teacher, so I cannot answer your question.<P>However, there are a number of sites online that you could look at - I found them on Google:<P><A HREF="http://www.google.com/search?q=Cecchetti&btnG=Google+Search" TARGET=_blank><B>Cecchetti Council</B></A><P>If you scroll down the page you will see there are a number of pages to look at.<P>Hope this helps.

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2001 7:36 am 

I was wondering- since I am taught cecchetti at school, and we have no official exams like the ones in the UK, what affect does that have on how people judge the level of training compared to someone who does have to take exams? In the UK, do they ask the dancers what level exam they have passed? Was that ever the case in America?

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2001 8:48 am