public forum
home forum magazine gallery links about faq courtesy
It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:05 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 
 Post subject: Getting started?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2004 3:39 am 

I noticed a thread similar in topic to this but wanted to ask some other questions as well.

I'd like to get into contemporary dance and ideally would like to make a career from it. I've always wanted to dance but never felt like i could make that sort of life changing decision (i'm a scientist at the moment). I'm realising that if i dont do it soon then I probably wont get the chance. I'd rather have tried and not made it than regret not doing it when i'm older.

I'm a 23yr old male from the UK with no dance training. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions as to whether this is (realistically) too old to start. I haven't read through the threads on this board for peoples experiences yet but maybe I could get some here.

Thoughts much appreciated.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Getting started?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 9:19 am 

Firstly welcome to the board.

If you have no dance experience to realise your dream you must first go and and start taking class. To become a professional takes years of hard work, but the hard work is no use unless you have some talent for dance. Only after you have taken some classes will you know if you have ability and more importantly if you enjoy dance.

It would be very hard work to become a professional after beginning at 23 - but I suppose one must never say never.

If you have a love of dance but also a good career would it not be a good start to see how you enjoy it as a hobby first. Many adults take great pleasure from dance as an aside to their everyday life.

I hope that helps.

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 1:57 pm