public forum
home forum magazine gallery links about faq courtesy
It is currently Sat Sep 20, 2014 4:00 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: New to Ballet - Some advice please!
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 12:51 pm 

Hello everyone!

I am relatively new to the theater, and though I have gone to a few opera performances in the past (and enjoyed them) my appreciation is still very much that of a layman. In an attempt to remedy this, I purchased a book called "Opera 101" and though I am still in the first half of the book, I have learned some important advice, one of which is to read and understand the opera performance you are about to watch "before" watching it, which wasn't obvious to me at all. I was wondering if you have any similar tips for me on how to appreciate ballet. I have purchased tickets to see the Nutcracker at the NYC Ballet so I am excited, and I am looking forward to attending performances on a regular basis.

I also have a specific question regarding something I read online... some of the posters who are veterans in the ballet world have mentioned seeing the same performance over and over again, within the same season. This left quite an impression on me, and I was wondering if one of you could enlighten me as to why one would see the same performance (I assume same exact dancers) over and over again. I confess to watching some really good movies over and over again, so I wonder if this is the same or whether there's something else going on that I am missing. I can definitely see the value of watching the same performance when the dancers are different, or some new choreography has been added, or some other change has been made. In any case, given multiple viewings of the same performance, any advice on what I should be looking at with a critical eye?

Many thanks in advance, and please forgive my complete ignorance, I am trying to pull myself out of the cultural dark ages.

Anthony

Profile E-mail