Subscribe to the magazine for free!

Email this page to a friend:


Advertising Information

UK 2012 National Dance Awards


by David Mead

November 9, 2012 -- The Place, London, UK

Each year the Dance Section of the Critics Circle, the national body for arts critics in the UK, organises the National Dance Awards in celebration of Britain’s vibrant and diverse dance culture.

The nominations for the 13th National Dance Awards, covering performances in the 2011-2012 season (from September 2011 to August 2012) were announced at a reception at The Place on November 9.

Those nominations are compiled from names put forward by the membership of the Dance Section, all active dance critics who are watching and reviewing dance throughout the country. Chairman of the section, Graham Watts, said that this year over 250 dancers, choreographers and companies were put forward for consideration, a reflection surely of the vigour and variety of Britain’s dance culture.

The shortlist very much represents the elite of 2012. The Best Company category (as with all sections, open to visiting as well as home companies) is especially strong this year. There’s also a lot of strength in the Independent Company category, where nominations are for companies performing generally in small and mid-scale venues.

In addition to awards in the categories listed, the Critics’ Circle will present the De Valois Award for Outstanding Achievement, given to an individual for lifetime achievement or a specific major contribution to dance over the past year. Nominations for this category are not released.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony to be held in The Robin Howard Theatre at The Place on Monday, January 28, 2013.

The Nominations

Dancing Times Award for Best Male Dancer
Jonathan Goddard (Rambert Dance Company, Goddard-Nixon & freelance)
Akram Khan (Akram Khan Company)
Vadim Muntagirov (English National Ballet)
Edward Watson (The Royal Ballet)

Grishko Award for Best Female Dancer
Begoña Cao (English National Ballet)
Eve Mutso (Scottish Ballet)
Marianela Nuñez (The Royal Ballet)
Tamara Rojo (The Royal Ballet)

Stef Stefanou Award for Outstanding Company
Merce Cunningham Dance Company
New Adventures
Royal Ballet of Flanders
Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch

Best Classical Choreography
David Bintley (“Faster” for Birmingham Royal Ballet)
Christopher Hampson (“Storyville” for Ballet Black)
Annabelle Lopez Ochoa (“A Streetcar Named Desire” for Scottish Ballet)
Alastair Marriott & Christopher Wheeldon (“Trespass” for The Royal Ballet)

Best Modern Choreography
Alexander Ekman (“Cacti” for NDT2)
Akram Khan (“Desh” for Akram Khan Company)
Arthur Pita (“The Metamorphosis”)
Kate Prince (“Some Like it Hip Hop” for Zoonation)

Outstanding Female Performance (Classical)
Yuhui Choe (The Royal Ballet)
Ksenia Ovsyanick (English National Ballet)
Beatriz Stix-Brunell (The Royal Ballet)
Jia Zhang (English National Ballet)

Outstanding male performance (classical)
Yonah Acosta (English National Ballet)
Paul Kay (The Royal Ballet)
Zdenek Konvalina (English National Ballet)
Dawid Trzensimiech (The Royal Ballet)

Outstanding Female Performance (Modern)
Azzurra Ardovini (Phoenix Dance Theatre)
Teneisha Bonner (Zoonation)
Wendy Houstoun
Hannah Kidd (Richard Alston Dance Company)

Outstanding Male Performance (Modern)
Tommy Franzén (Zoonation & Russell Maliphant Company)
Dane Hurst (Rambert Dance Company)
Christopher Marney (New Adventures)
Liam Riddick (Richard Alston Dance Company)

Best Independent Company
Ballet Black
Ballet Cymru
Rosie Kay Dance Company
Shobana Jeyasingh Dance Company

Read related stories in the press and see what others are saying -- visit the forum.


about uswriters' guidelinesfaqprivacy policycopyright noticeadvertisingcontact us